Into the Abyss that is a Broken Heart

Too many thoughts swirling

Round and round I go

Into the abyss that is a broken heart

.

Why

Why

Why

.

Why did he retreat?

Why couldn’t he be there?

Why does he now stay gone?

.

Closure is needed

Everything in me

Is questioning everything around me

.

I can’t look away from him

Because he’s everywhere I look

His language, his work, his effect on me

Right now I can see nothing else

.

How could it be this beautiful

But this brief?

How can I be so devastated to lose

That which I never even really had?

.

Was the promise really that great?

Was the perfection felt

Merely an illusion?

.

It seems as if easy come easy go for him

For me, I feel as if I will die from this pain

Pathetic, I know

.

Jumbled into the heartache

Is my fear of being alone

My need for a safe place

.

I know I must evolve

I say to myself, “THE ONLY WAY OUT IS THROUGH”

.

But the road in front of me

Is currently covered in fog

And bottomless pits

.

One after the other

Black and filled with demons

Which will surely be the end of me

Won’t they?

.

What did I do wrong?

What did he do wrong?

Is there any wrong or right?

We’re all trying our goddamn best

.

I wish I could have been free to be myself

I wish I could have screamed and cried

And that everything would have been ok

.

Self

Others

Where do I stand?

.

Self-centered

Codependent

Unworthy

.

Giving

Loving

Worthy

.

Mind still swirling

Stomach in my throat

When will I see clearly?

.

.

.

If anyone reading has tips for a broken heart please let me know

I need all the help I can get right now

Leave a comment